Skip to main content

Ives Fourth Symphony


Mobile Navigation Controls


Online Books and References

Sinclair | A Descriptive Catalogue of The Music of Charles Ives

Brodhead | Ives’s Celestial Railroad and His Fourth Symphony

Critical Edition Performance Score Available for online viewing

Ives Society | Audio of All Borrowed Tunes in Ives’s Music

Search for Upcoming Performances of Symphony No. 4 | Performance | Music Wise Classical

All performances to-date and upcoming of Performance Edition | Music Wise Classical


From A Priori to A Posteriori: A New Edition of Ives’s Fourth Symphony, With Real-World Feedback
Lecture by Thomas M. Brodhead on the new Performance Edition of the Ives 4th at the MOLA Conference in Montreal, 2015

Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Peter Eötvös | Ives 4 | 2012 Critical Edition Premiere Preparations
Official Lucerne Festival Documentary (29 minutes)

American Symphony Orchestra, Leopold Stokowski | Ives 4 | 1965 Premiere | N.E.T.
Complete Documentary (58 minutes)

Movement 1: Prelude

Movement 2: Comedy

Movement 3: Fugue

Movement 4: Finale